garret web site icon

This is the Museum's old web site. For the new web site go to:


Here follows a, not complete, list of all the people who have helped the Museum develop from the small museum with 5,000 visitors open only 3 half days a week in 1989 to the current museum with 44,000 visitors open 7 days a week. For credits for creating this web page click here.

The museum was founded by Lord Brock and is administered by the Lord Brock Memorial Trust until 2014, and then the Lord Brock Trust since 2014. . Lord Brock is remembered as a pioneer of open-heart surgery. Fomer chairs of the Trust include: Lord McColl and Sir Norman Browse.

Present and Former Trustees of the Lord Brock Trust include:

The Museum is staffed by (in alphabetic order):

Kevin Flude is currently Creative Director, and was Director from 1988 to 2014.

The Museum owes a great debt of gratitude to its volunteers, past members of staff and Trustees. This includes: Colin Parr,:Mr Martin Jourdan, Lord McColl, Sir Norman Browse, Antony West, Mike Stone, Michael Tambini, Tony Clayton, Mike Bardell, Yvette Barrett, Barbara Booker (Herb Woman) Dawn Howeel, Marietta Ryan, Jose Bea, Alistair Simmonds, Stewart Caine, Jo Hall, Paul Herbert, Lucy Davies, Felicity Horada, Iris Boening, Julia Grollman and Leonie Hannan. Julie Carter, Jean Haynes, Hugh Jenkins, Sarah Chaney, Katie Edwards, Stevie Edge, Chris Sams, Jo Holt, Marita Parr, Connie and Hetty Flude.

The museum's robust health is also due to help from the Charitable Trust of St Thomas's and Guy's Hospitals; our landlords - the Cathedral Group, our former Landlords Butcher, Robinson & Staples Ltd., part of The Chapter Group; the Barbara Whatmore Foundation; Southwark Heritage Association, the Borough High Street Foundation, MLA, London (and in all its earlier manifestations (AMSSEE, SEMS, LMA, ALM, London, MLA, London) and the London Renaissance Hub.

The Museums displays are maintained by the Museum staff. The theatre was originally restored thanks to generous donations from the Wolfson Trust. The present displays originated with the aid of grants from Gerard House, Butcher, Robinson & Staples Ltd.,The Barbara Whatmore Trust, the Pilgrim Trust, Bayer UK, the Raynes Foundation, the Manifold Trust, Price Waterhouse, Area Museum Service South East England and the Special Trustees of Guy's and St Thomas's. The Museum has also benefited by donations from the Wellcome Institute, Wicked London Publications and South Thames Training & Enterprise Council. These displays were originally created by Kevin Flude and Paul Herbert; assisted by Mike Bardill, Mike Barrel, Tony Clayton, Daynes Design Partnership, Hugh Jenkins, Barrie Lees, Alan Powell, Malcolm Russell, Dave Scott, Marion O'Shea, Poppy Singer, Michael Tambini, Roger Taylor and Philip Wilson. These displays have been substantially remodelled by Karen Howeel, and the staff mentioned above.

The herbal display at the Museum is the work of Karen Howell. Education work at the Museum has been helped by grants from the Department of Education and Skills (DfEE DfES), the Foyle Foundation, PricewaterhouseCoopers and the Pool of London. The Front Entrance display was funded by the London Museums Agency and the Pool of London Partnership.

For credits for creating this web page click here. For the original archive page click here.


22/07/2016 KPF